Drought

I’m sure you’ve heard the expression “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks.” Well, I would modify that to say you can, it will just take a while. Unfortunately, I am talking about myself. You see, I finally got a smart phone and took some pictures – then it took me two months to figure out how to get them off my phone and onto the computer and eventually here on the blog to share. So, though it took a while, here are some pictures I took in April when we were in California driving along Hwy 166. You probably know there is a drought and I cannot believe how very dry it is there.

In April the hills should be green and lush with fresh grass, this is what they looked like instead.

dry cow trails

There were still cattle “grazing” in the hills, but honestly I don’t know what they were eating.

dry cattle

Many ranchers have been forced to sell off their herds because they have nothing to feed them. The cost of hay is sky-high if you can get it.

cattle closer

It is a sad situation for those folks; they desperately need rain.

dry hillside fence

This is the river bed – which had not one drop of water that I could see.

dry river bed

Over the edge of the bridge you can see the high water mark on the hills. I have seen the water that high there in one of those El Nino or La Nina (which one means it rains a lot?) years. They could sure use some of that rain now.

high water mark

The only place it is green is where there is irrigation of some kind.

sprinkler crops

This whole situation makes me very thankful to live in a place where water is abundant.

This entry was posted in Cattle.

4 comments on “Drought

  1. Maybelline says:

    You’re so right Brenda. I work in the water world where we’re acutely aware of this historic year. We’re about 1/2 way there (end of 2014) and praying rain will hit in the fall. I’m especially praying we don’t experience anything like the dust storm of 1977. Remember that? There is so much fallowed land now making the conditions right.

    Enjoy your water.

    • Brenda says:

      I’m hoping and praying for rain in the valley too. And yes, I do remember that dust storm – it was awful. Let’s hope that doesn’t happen again. I’m thankful for the water here every time I drive over the bridge on the Skagit river to get home.

  2. Linda knight says:

    Brenda, it’s sad to see how dry everything is. Praying that the Lord sends rain in the Fall or sooner.

  3. Brenda says:

    It is sad, I feel bad for all the people affected by this drought. Especially those who have to sell the animals they can no longer feed.

Leave a Reply

