Spring?

I think spring has officially arrived at the ranch. I know the calendar says it was a few weeks ago, but honestly up here in the north country you can’t really count on that. We had snow again on the mountains above us just a few days ago. But the signs are abundant that it is spring.

New chicks are in the “playpen.” These chicks are gold sex links which are a cross between a Rhode Island Red male and a Rhode Island White female. They are called sex links because the males and females are different colors when they hatch which makes it easy to tell which is which. You don’t run into the issue we had a few years ago with Barnardette the hen who turned out to be Barnard the rooster.

??????????????????????

Daffodils are blooming in the garden. These bulbs are some my friend gave me last summer. Alex and I planted them in the fall but they were pretty shriveled and dried up and we weren’t sure they would come up.

??????????????????????

The pastures are starting to green up; only a little tinge of green but it is a start.

??????????????????????

My asparagus is coming up! Mmmm – can’t wait for my first meal of those.

??????????????????????

Week old calves are playing peek-a-boo around the trees. These little ones are so cute and fun to watch. They nurse and sleep most of the time but in the late afternoon it is playtime and they run around the pasture kicking up their heels.

??????????????????????

The evil rhubarb is also flourishing in the garden. Yes, I know I said I was going to yank it out last year because no one in our family will eat it. I didn’t get around to that and now here it is again. My son Alex suggested taking a blow torch to the rhubarb, but that does seem a bit drastic.

??????????????????????

Spring also means showers; we’ve had almost three inches of rain in the past three days which leaves puddles in the pasture.

??????????????????????

These two calves were quite interested in looking through the fence at the dogs. They like to play with Molly – maybe because she is also black and about their size – but Grizzly doesn’t get a very warm welcome.

??????????????????????

More daffodils and grape hyacinth around the grand stump.

??????????????????????

I found morel mushrooms yesterday afternoon, just in time for dinner. They were delicious with our own grass fed T Bone steaks.

??????????????????????The signs are all there – it is really spring!

4 comments on “Spring?

  1. Karla says:

    I’m just grinning from ear to ear with all the news of Spring at AAR; enjoy those morels; we sure miss them!

    • Brenda says:

      I thought of you guys as I was out hunting. Molly and I walked down the hill on the mushroom road – with my ski pole stick of course – and found a few.

  2. ML says:

    Loved the picture of the calf looking around the tree.

Leave a Reply

