Rhubarb Recipe

I had no idea that there were so many rhubarb fans out there. Since the post where I said I was yanking mine out because I don’t like rhubarb – if you didn’t read it at the time you can read it here –  several people have commented. Most of them are horrified I would pull out my perfectly good rhubarb plants. It seems to make no difference to them that neither I nor anyone in my family will actually eat the stuff.  A couple didn’t really care about that, they just wanted the rhubarb recipes. So, for you rhubarb fans, here is the recipe my quilting friend Mary Lee gave me from her mother’s cookbook which was published around 1932.

Rhubarb Custard Pie

  • pastry for 2 pie crusts

  • 3 eggs

  • 2 cups sugar

  • 3 Tablespoons milk

  • 1/4 cup flour

  • 4 cups diced rhubarb

  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg

  • 1 Tablespoon butter

** Heat oven to 400 degrees. Prepare pie crust pastry. Beat eggs, add remaining ingredients except butter and rhubarb and beat thoroughly. Add rhubarb to mixture, pour batter into pastry lined pie pan. Dot with butter, cover with lattice pastry top. Cover edge with 2 – 3 inch strip of foil. Remove foil last 15 minutes of baking. Bake 50 – 60 minutes or until nicely browned. Serve warm.

When done it should look something like the lovely pie pictured above which I did not bake because a. I am not a good baker and b. I do not like rhubarb. And further c. I did not even take the picture.

If you need rhubarb, mine is still available. Help yourself – please. I am not taking it out until fall. So get it now or forever hold your peace. And hopefully we are all done with rhubarb forever!

Leave a Reply

