Traeger Smoker Grill

I think I mentioned a few posts ago that we got a new Traeger Smoker and Grill. We are really enjoying it and have had some wonderful meals smoked on that little grill! There are different sizes available from a Junior (the one we have) to big enough to feed our whole town.

This smoked chicken was wonderful. We used Mesquite Pellets and the flavor was great. We had chicken for dinner and then the next day I made smoked chicken salad with the leftovers and it was delicious if I must say so myself.

We’ve had barbecue grills for years – both gas and charcoal – and I never really used them. It was always so much trouble to get the fire going and maintain the right temperature and keep the food from burning with flare-ups. That is the thing I love about the Traeger – it is so easy and no flames flaring up scorching the food. You just load the pellets in the hopper, flip the switch and you are good to go.

So far, we’ve tried the Hickory and Mesquite wood pellets. The hickory is good on everything I think and the mesquite was great with chicken and pork. Last week I smoked some of our grass-fed beef round steak. I sliced it thin and made steak sandwiches and they were quite tasty. One of my favorite things we have cooked is hamburgers.

We start with our very own grass-fed beef. If you don’t have your own grass-fed beef, you can order some from us here on our beef sales website.

I seasoned the burgers lightly with sea salt and black pepper and put them on the grill using the hickory pellets and set it to smoke.

Sorry the picture is kind of smoky – but that is what the grill does. I turned the burgers about halfway through cooking though you don’t really have to – I like to have grill marks on both sides.  Our grass-fed beef is naturally lean so there is very little shrinkage of the ground beef patties.

And mmmm were those burgers good! Juicy and full of flavor.

Upon proof reading this post, I realize it sounds a little like a Traeger commercial or testimonial. I promise we are not selling them we just love ours; however if any Traeger Company person is reading this and wants to reward their loyal customers, we’d love to try the other types of wood pellets available.

Another recipe we tried on the smoker is this one for Uncle Wilson’s Grilled Onions. I’m really not much of an onion person, but I tried these after seeing them prepared on a food TV show. They were wonderful! Sweet and lots of flavor – and I did ours on the smoker so they were even better. Yum!

One comment on “Traeger Smoker Grill

Leave a Reply

