Four Years!

May is an important month in our household – or maybe that should be ranchhold? Anyway, May is a big month for us. Two birthdays and Mother’s Day and then Father’s Day soon to follow in June. Our children tell us every year that having two birthdays and Mother’s Day and Father’s Day all within five weeks time is really bad planning. I agree. I would also like to point out that I had nothing to do with planning any of it. This particular May we are also celebrating another milestone.

Our blog is celebrating a birthday too. Four years ago this month our very first blog post appeared.

I went back and checked some of the statistics – in case you don’t have a blog you may not know that you get a re-cap of all your posts and visits and comments and lots of other things I would never have thought to keep track of. This is a portion of the first blog post which appeared May 6, 2008.

Deer

May 6 by  Brenda

The deer are out and about with the warmer weather.  Yesterday we saw six at one time in the backyard and near the feeder, two bucks with little knobs on their heads and four does. 

We don’t see as many deer these days as now we have our two ferocious watch dogs running around protecting us from the wild animals.

I thought it was interesting to go back over the statistics and see what has happened over the last four years.

There have been 360 posts a fact that truly surprised me. What could I possibly have had to say for 360 posts?  Also we have received 844 comments. Thank you commentors (is that a word?) it is always nice to know there is someone out there who actually reads this and looks at the pictures. I know some of you read and don’t comment on the page but tell me about it when I see you and that is nice too. All told, in the last four years we have had 58,512 visits. Wow. That’s 14,628 visits a year – or a little over 40 visits per day. Hello Visitors – and welcome!

Over the years we’ve covered a lot of diverse topics here.  Flowers are always good, these Johnny Jump Ups are Rick’s favorite.

The hydrangea was so pretty last year.

Our dogs have made frequent appearances on the blog. Here is Grizzly with Grandpa Russell.

If you are a Grizzly fan you can see More Grizzly here.  Molly must have equal time of course.

And you can see More Molly Here. We have cattle so they show up a lot. I especially like the calves and the milk face, they are so cute!

The relatives come to visit and we have shooting contests. I don’t remember if Beth was the contest winner but she does seem serious about her weapon – I wouldn’t mess with her.

Food is always a favorite topic around here. Our friend Karla made these delicious shish kabobs. 

We’ve had grass fed beef burgers – they were delicious too if I do say so myself.

Rocks are – unfortunately – a frequent topic. Digging them with our favorite neighbor’s tractor is easier than digging by hand.

Which our favorite son-in-law is doing here.

Chainsaw wood carving at the local 4th of July Loggerodeo; I’m still amazed at the skill.

Our dogs were the proud parents of ten puppies a couple of years ago. Our daughter arrived just in time to help care for them. They were adorable weren’t they?

Our brand new 1961 Scout has been featured; here the windows are all frosted over on a cold winter morning.

Megan’s cat who doesn’t drink out of a bowl like a normal cat, but only drinks out of the faucet made an appearance.

Rick in the pasture with the bovine boys – I think they are looking for treats.

The lovely, glacier green Skagit river. It is such a treat for us to live in a place with abundant water.

Our nephew and son wearing goofy hats. In their defense, neither of those hats belong to them, they just got stuck wearing them. It was COLD!

A USAF A-10 Thunderbolt II affectionately known as the Warthog; always near and dear to our hearts. If you want to know why, read the rest of the story here. 

A waterfall about two miles from our house. Did I mention we like living where there is a lot of water?

Chickens . . .

. . . and eggs.

Many diverse topics and pictures. So what has been – by far – the most popular post with the most visits and hits?  Any guesses? It surprised me to learn it is one I posted two years ago – and it has had 3,745 views in the last two years.  It is this post I did on my home-made, no poison, Mouse Trap. You can read the full Mouse trap post.

Yep, the mouse trap. There must be a lot of people out there with mice problems – it has had 43 views just this week!

I must confess when I started this blog four years ago, my only thought was that it was a good way for us to share our pictures and news with our friends and family far from us. I never really thought so many other people would find us here on our little corner of the web. It’s been fun and it is interesting for us to look back too at how much things have changed on our ranch over the past few years. So, Happy Birthday to our blog, and many happy returns.

10 comments on “Four Years!

  1. ML says:

    Happy Birthday! and don’t even think of quitting – it’s such a good way to keep up with y’all – where are you Megan?

    • Brenda says:

      I’m not planning to quit the blog any time soon – if I did I wouldn’t have a good excuse to stand around taking pictures while everyone else is working 🙂

  2. Karla and Larry says:

    Too Much Fun & Memories! I’m in W2 sharing this with my Mom who was there many years ago…wow, the changes! You should be super proud of all you have accomplished at AAR! We are huge fans! I’m going to share with some visiting Seattle
    relatives who have also “been there” in past years and are in W2 to see Mom. Your Blog is fantastic! Hello to all…and many hugs! Karla

    • Brenda says:

      Isn’t it hard to believe it’s been four years?? I love hearing from folks who have been here! They know just how many rocks there are – and how very beautiful – this place is. Rick has a new toy, I mean tool, for the driveway I’ll have to post soon. You will be impressed.
      Hope all is well with you and yours.

  3. Mrs. M. Pruski says:

    I lurk 🙂 … I read the blog and keep up with the going on’s at the Ranch. Brandon and I were just saying that we needed to try and make another trip soon, sadly it probably won’t be until this time next year.

  4. Dr John says:

    You have done a really good job with the blog and helping to keep us involved in your life. Thanks for the memories from some of the last 4 years. By the way, how much rain do you get?? I don’t remember pics of that. ha ha
    Dr John

    • Brenda says:

      Thanks Dr. John! I have tried taking pictures of the rain – 96 inches per year average – but I have discovered rain is hard to see in pictures, or maybe I’m not a very good rain photographer. That’s why I usually stick to clouds – those photograph well and you can see them 😉

  5. Dave & Diana says:

    Happy Birthday! Your blog is great. We enjoy keeping up with the land.

    Diana and I (Larry’s sister) made two trips to AAR from Florida, about 85 miles from where L&K live now. We enjoyed our stays out there like to be able to keep track of the land and the changes your’s and Rick’s love produced.

    You spoke of planning, my birthday is December 23, and Diana’s is the 24th. That was hard to plan!

    Please, Brenda And Rick, continue to love the land and show us the results of your labors.

  6. Brenda says:

    Thanks Dave – good to hear from you! We do love living here and feel very blessed to be able to do so. If you ever get up this way, be sure to stop and see the place in person again.

    Brenda
    P.S. Your birthdays are way worse than ours!

Leave a Reply

