Pumpkin Carving

While we are in California we have enjoyed the opportunity to see family and friends.  The other evening the family was at Rod & Margaret’s house for dinner and had a pumpkin carving contest. 

We were divided into teams of four and had 30 minutes to design and carve our pumpkin. Much discussion and strategic planning went into the design and implementation of the various pumpkin carving themes.  There were also attempts at intimidation and boasts of “superior technique.”

Some teams chose the traditional Jack O’Lantern look while others opted for an “Appeal to the Judge” approach.

The teams were selected based on age.  This is the “Young Dating Team” obviously not the team I was on.

I must confess it has been a long time since I actually carved a pumpkin. It is just as gloppy and messy as I remember, but it was also fun.

 This is the pumpkin of the “Young Newlyweds” team – also not my team.  Notice the carefully designed sketch of the flower.

With the 30 minute time limit, you had to work fast and it wasn’t long until the designs started to take shape.

The completed pumpkins were displayed for judging.  Here is #1

Pumpkin #2

Pumpkin #3

Pumpkin #4

Before I announce the judge’s decision, which of the four is your favorite?

Winner to be announced in a couple of days.

4 comments on “Pumpkin Carving

  1. Nick Dude says:

    While I thought the “we love you” pumpkin was original, it’s just not what should be displayed on a pumpkin. It sends the wrong message. I’m also not much of a flower guy so my vote goes to # 3.

  2. Brenda says:

    I must agree with you on the flower pumpkin – whoever heard of flowers on a pumpkin? And the “We Love You” pumpkin was a blatent attempt to bribe the judge.

  3. Nick Dude says:

    It was #3 right? Or did the bribery work? You kinda left me hanging… Not cool.

    • Brenda says:

      Patience is a virtue!

      Winner to be announced shortly – and I agree with you that #3 was my favorite. We will see if the judge agreed with us?

Leave a Reply

