A Trip to the Island

A few days ago we went on a USDA sponsored farm tour which was held on Lopez Island.

 One of the things I like best about living here is the beautiful scenery all around us, and this area is certainly no exception.  Lopez Island is in the San Juan Islands just off the mainland of Washington.

We took the ferry from Anacortes, which has got to be one of the coolest ways to travel ever invented, and there a stunning view wherever you look.

Some of the islands in the San Juans are more “touristy” but Lopez is mainly agriculture.  Lovely, quaint farms, dairies, gardens and ranches, dominate the island though there are a couple of Bed & Breakfasts’s including this one which I think is simply gorgeous.  I love old buildings, or even new buildings that are built to look old.

As you can see by the blooming daffodils, they are a few weeks ahead of us as far as spring weather.  There is even a house near one of the farms we visited with daffodils on the roof.

I believe that is the first time I’ve ever seen daffodils blooming on the roof, or perhaps more correctly in the roof.

Another farm we toured raises sheep and they were peacefully grazing near the pond.

In the next field spring lambs were frolicking in the warm sunshine under the watchful gaze of their mamas. The lambs seem to have springs on their feet the way they bounce around so effortlessly.

These two lambs were playing King – or maybe Queen – of the Hill.

Look closely and you can see that the “hill” is mom.  What a patient and tolerant ewe she must be – and only one of those lambs is hers.

I went exploring and found an old shed . . .

. . . and an old barn (did I mention I like old buildings?)

And inside the barn I found this little critter.

Is there anything cuter than a newborn lamb?  Of course, it will eventually grow up to become a stupid sheep, but it is adorable now.  And yes, I am sorry to say sheep are not bright animals.  I raised them for six years as my 4-H project and trust me on this folks, when the Bible compares we humans to sheep it isn’t a compliment.  This little one couldn’t wait to get back to lunch.  I love the way their little tails twirl as they nurse.

As we traveled from farm to farm we wore these lovely plastic booties over our shoes so we didn’t transfer any diseases.  Aren’t they quite the fashion statement?

All too soon it was time to board the ferry for the return trip to the mainland and head home.  We met some wonderful people, learned a lot and saw beautiful scenery – a very good day.

One comment on “A Trip to the Island

  1. Tj says:

    Oh, I wish we lived closer so we could all hang out. It looks like a wonderful day. BTW- I love old buildings too.

Leave a Reply

