Soup’s On

I’m really not known for my cooking skills.  I haven’t poisoned anyone (that I know of) or anything, it is just not one of my favorite things.  Some people are “foodies.”  They love everything about cooking, they watch cooking shows and read cookbooks and make exquisite culinary creations for fun.  No one like that lives here.  When my kids were little one of the first phone numbers they memorized was the local pizza delivery place.  However, when one moves to the middle of nowhere there is no pizza delivery so I have had to cook more.

So, having given you that disclaimer, now I’m going to tell you about this great recipe I invented.  Really it is all the more amazing when you know about my lack of cooking talent don’t you think?  Anyway, this one recipe has been requested many, many times by people who are really good cooks, so I think you can trust them.  I sort of invented it by accident – what is that saying necessity is the mother of invention? – it was like that.  I needed something for dinner, I looked up a recipe I had marked thinking it sounded good, but when I looked at it again I discovered I didn’t have all the ingredients and it would take too long, etc.   I improvised and came up with what is now one of our favorite soups. In keeping with Nephew Nick’s theory that good recipes always have a picture, I’ve included a couple.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

2 cups cooked chicken, diced

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can cream of chicken soup

4 cups (or more) of chicken broth

1 1/2 to 2 cups salsa (medium or spicy)

1 small can sliced olives

1 can rotel tomatoes with chilis

1 can black beans

1 teaspoon garlic salt

1/2 cup onion, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

1 (or more) jalapeno chilis, diced

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

sour cream

green onion, diced

1 cup tortilla chips per serving (4-6)

***

Saute onion and garlic until translucent, meanwhile mix in crock pot or large pot soups, broth, salsa, olives, chicken, beans, tomatoes, garlic salt and jalapeno.  Add more broth if you like more liquid in your soup.  Add sautéed onion and garlic, bring to a boil then simmer 30 minutes or so.  Or put it all in a crock pot to cook on low all day.  (This is my favorite way to prepare as it smells wonderful when you walk in the door and dinner is ready!)

To serve:  Lightly crush a handful of tortilla chips in each bowl, sprinkle cheese on top, ladle very hot soup over chips and cheese.  Garnish with a dollop of sour cream and diced green onions.

And voila!  Dinner is served.  If possible, this tastes the very best when served on a cold, rainy or cloudy day with a fire crackling in the background.   We had this for dinner tonight and it was wonderful.

4 comments on “Soup’s On

  1. Alex palmer says:

    See, reading this just makes me hungry

  2. tj says:

    Yummy. As soon as Mark and I are off our diet I will be cooking this up. Thanks.

  3. tj says:

    I am back….. tortilla soup for dinner.

Leave a Reply

