A Squirrel in the Tree

I was walking out to the lower pasture one afternoon last week, past this big maple tree when I saw a squirrel darting up.  As soon as he saw me he (or she) stopped and froze.

I took a picture and walked closer.

I expected the squirrel to scamper away at any moment as I got closer.

Maybe he was too scared to move, but he stayed put.

I was able to get quite close and he still sat there.  But when I got to the base of the tree he decided that was close enough and he darted off up into the high branches of the tree. He seemed a little indignant that I had interrupted his winter preparations.

I also saw a woodpecker pecking away at a tall cottonwood tree, but alas he was too far away for my little point and shoot camera to capture.

Leave a Reply

