A Sunday Drive

Rick and I took a drive up our road Sunday after church.  It was a beautiful day, clear and sunny.  

About six miles up the road from our house is the border of the National Forest.

 

The Cascade Mountains, with glaciers in the distance.  There are over 350 glaciers in this area, some feed the Cascade River which runs along part of our property. 

The Cascade River viewed from above.

This forest service road turns to dirt after about ten miles.

The river is a beautiful green.  I don’t know why rivers that flow down from glaciers are this color green, but we saw some in Alaska that were the same.  Maybe the minerals in the water?

The water is very clear – you can see the fish swimming around from the bridge.

You can also see this group of dead salmon that are spawned out.  It is hard to believe they have made it this far up the river from the ocean; it is at least 70 miles.  I tried to talk Rick into wading into the ice cold water to retrieve them, folks around here use them for garden fertilizer.  He thought buying fertilizer was a better idea.

There are some beautiful waterfalls flowing down into the river.

 

   It still surprises us to see water just coming down the mountainside.  We are not used to that much water! 

The waterfalls are some of my favorite things to find.  It is at least ten degrees cooler standing close to them and feeling the mist on your skin. 

 

Water is not the only thing that slides down the hills.  This huge log is about six inches away from the road. 

It was a beautiful day and drive, and we made it home in time for my Sunday afternoon nap.  I consider my Sunday nap pretty much sacred.  I have heard a vicious rumor that if I miss it I am cranky and grouchy, but I don’t listen to gossip 😉   

3 comments on “A Sunday Drive

  1. Tj says:

    Beautiful! Thanks for sharing. And I agree that it’s best not to listen to gossip… just repeat it and get on with things.

  2. Michael says:

    The pictures of the area close to your property are beautiful!!! It makes me want to visit that part of the country even more. I like waterfalls myself. Krista and I are leaving Tuesday afternoon for Gatlinburg, TN and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park for a fall vacation. We will be down there for 5 days. It is my fall break, so we are going to view some of the changing leaves and hopefully some of the beautiful waterfalls found within that park as well. It is also our 1 year anniversary get-away (a few days early).

  3. Rick & Brenda says:

    Michael (and Krista) Have a great trip and Happy Anniversary!

    Tj: I agree with you – I never repeat gossip, so you’d better be sure you listen close the first time 😉

Leave a Reply

