Blue Jays

After we finished the porch, Rick and I are back to digging post holes for the fence around the orchard.  That is really not too exciting, though it is necessary to protect our fruit trees and berry bushes from the critters.

 

The last two posts on the east side, we are making progress!

Meanwhile, my love-hate relationship with the blue jays (Steller Jays in the bird book) continues. 

As I have mentioned, I put out two bird feeders and the jays monopolize them.  They knock over the feeder, scatter the birdseed everywhere and chase off all the smaller birds.  They have emptied the whole feeder in less than one day, wasting most of it.  I have pretty much resigned myself to their bad bird behavior with the feeders, but now they have gone one step farther. 

After we finished our porch, I put out some fall decorations.

The very first morning I found my decorative squash pecked!  The @#$*% jays had made breakfast out of my fall decor.  I’m beginning to think Rick’s suggestion about the shotgun might be a good one after all. 

2 comments on “Blue Jays

  1. Michael says:

    Hey, I thought I would finally take the time to let you know I have been keeping up with your new site. The new porch looks great and the fall decorations are a great touch. Krista and I just finished putting some similar things out at our house. Your place looks beautiful. I will have to come up and check it out sometime.

  2. Rick & Brenda says:

    Good to hear from you. We would love to have you and Krista come and visit sometime. Hope all is well in Hoosier land. Tell everyone we said “hi.”

Leave a Reply

