Fence Posts

 The deer are creeping closer and closer to our garden, so we decided we better get busy on a real fence.  We spent what seemed like days laying it out and pulling strings to square it up.  It is now not only perfectly symmetrical, it is also exactly parallel to the house.  I hereby formally apologize to Mr. Scott, my 9th grade algebra teacher.  I have actually used one thing I learned in your class in real life 😉

Since we had so many holes to dig, we bought an auger.  It said on the box it was a “2-Man” style.

 

I told Rick he should find another one to help him.

He assured me that really meant “two person.”  Since there was no one else available, I was the second person.  I am sure it was much easier than digging with posthole diggers, but it still wasn’t easy.  We have a LOT of rocks!  Here are the only some of the rocks that came out of one two foot hole.

When the auger hits those, you have to stop, lift it out of the hole, take out the rocks, then lift it back into the hole and start again.  Sometimes the only way to get the rocks out is with a sledge hammer and rock pick.  Doesn’t that sound like fun?   Now you know why our fencing has been laying on the ground!

 

We finally did get three holes done and Rick carried the fence posts out.  Now we only have ten more fence posts, and then six double-wide holes for the fruit trees.  I can hardly wait!

3 comments on “Fence Posts

  1. Tj says:

    We once rented one of those so called two man augers. Hmmm. I started helping, but then quickly went and found Eric. I wasn’t man enough for the job.

  2. mark says:

    SAY IT AIN’T SO !! I feel abandoned! And just when I was making some progress convincing Tammie that horizontal fencing was all the rage in the cattle industry.

    Sooo, when you’re done with that auger…
    mark

  3. Rick & Brenda says:

    If only Eric (or Alex) were here to help, I would gladly give up my spot on the auger! Where is that kid when we need him? I guess I will just have to keep plugging along. I will say if I do this for another month or so, my upper body strength will improve!
    Brenda

Leave a Reply

